I FAILED at making a Red Velvet Cake & Cream Cheese Icing UGGGHH

Hi everyone!

Ok so, this week I tried to do my first layer cake. I made a practice one and then I had one in mind to celebrate Thanksgiving. However, it was an utter FAIL.

So when I made the practice cake I made my vanilla layer cakes teal and purple with this recipe from Emma’s Goodies.

You can find her video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U9Qdmemc6NY

Ingredients in cups:  

  • 1 stick of Butter
  • 3 Tbsp. Coconut Oil
  • 3/4 cups Sugar
  • 1 1/2 tbsp. Vanilla Extract (if you are using vanilla essence, made from artificial flavoring add only 1 teaspoon)
  • 3 Eggs
  • 1 3/4 cups Flour
  • 3 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened full fat Yogurt
  • 1/4 cup Milk
  • 1/2 tsp Salt

*Bake at 350 Fahrenheit*

I then tried to do like a galaxy type icing design with teal purple and white buttercream icing. I used this recipe from Chelsweets Bakery.

You can find here video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yg7CRfLRWEg&t=83s

American Buttercream Ingredients: 

  • 4 sticks or 2 cups (434 grams) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 8 cups (907 grams) powdered sugar
  • 1/2 tsp (3 grams) salt
  • 2 Tbsp. (30 grams) heavy cream
  • 3 tsp (12 grams) vanilla

Instructions:

Beat the butter on a medium speed for 30 seconds with a paddle attachment, until smooth. Slowly add in the powdered sugar, 1 cup at a time. Alternate with small splashes of cream. Once fully mixed, add the vanilla and salt, and beat on medium-low until the ingredients are fully incorporated, and the desired consistency is reached. If the frosting is too thick, add in cream (1 teaspoon at a time). If the frosting is too thin, add in more powdered sugar ( a quarter of a cup at a time).

Here are photos of that practice cake:

 

The icing recipe worked out amazing for me. It was just a bit too thick, but like she recommended, you just need to add in more heavy cream until it’s at the consistency that you desire.

On the other hand, the cake recipe came out a bit too tough for me. When I cooled my layers in the fridge before frosting that cake became a bit dense.

Now, inspired by the way this cake came out I decided to do a red velvet layer cake and cream cheese icing. I also wanted to make brushstrokes from candy melts in yellow, green and orange to pair well with a tan colored icing.

In case you haven’t seen one, the brushstroke designed cake looks like this: (Juniper Cakery)

Picture1

Those were really easy to make, but I didn’t have much candy melt, and I watered it out with coconut oil. Bad idea, they melted really fast and had a glossy look.

Then there was the disaster of the first batch of cakes, way too hard and tasted like a chocolate cake. So I re-did them, the second time, I was low on red food coloring so it wasn’t as red as I would have liked. They were a touch harder than I would have liked as well.

The icing is where I failed, it did not hold up well at all. The oils from the butter and the food coloring kept separating and it just looked like all the ingredients were separating and the colors did not blend out. It turned out horrible.

The cake and icing recipe was inspired by Divas Can Cook. Please check her out: http://divascancook.com/ I’m sure that the errors were my fault.

Icing Here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=88ev8HZrUnY&t=2s

Ingredients

  • 4 blocks (32 oz.) cream cheese, room temperature
  • 16 tablespoons (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 4 cups powdered sugar, sifted

Instructions

  1. In a large bowl cream together cream cheese and butter.
  2. Mix in vanilla extract.
  3. Gradually mix in powdered sugar.
  4. Let frosting set in the fridge for a few hours to firm up if needed.
  5. Store in refrigerator.
  6. (makes enough to frost a 3-layer cake)

& Cake here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gA9ZjcueUZs

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 Tablespoons unsweetened, cocoa powder
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup vegetable oil or canola
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1-2 oz. red food coloring, more or less depending on how deep you want the color
  • ½ cup plain hot coffee, prepared (don’t skip this ingredient)
  • 1 teaspoon white distilled vinegar

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 F.
  2. Generously grease and flour (2) 9-inch round cake pans. Set aside.
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, cocoa powder, and salt. Set aside.
  4. In a large bowl, combine the sugar and vegetable oil.
  5. Mix in the eggs, buttermilk, vanilla and red food coloring until combined.
  6. Stir in the coffee and white vinegar.
  7. Combine the wet ingredients with the dry ingredients a little at a time, mixing after each addition, just until combined. (Batter will be thin)
  8. Pour the batter evenly into each pan.
  9. Bake in the middle rack for 30-40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in center comes out with moist crumbs clinging to it. Do not over bake as the cake will continue to cook as it cools.
  10. Let pans cool on a cooling rack until the pans are warm to the touch.
  11. Slide a knife or offset spatula around the inside of the pans to loosen the cake from the pan.
  12. Gently remove the cakes from the pan and let them finish cooling. (The warm cake will be very delicate)
  13. Frost the cake with cream cheese frosting when the cakes have cooled completely.

So guys here is my video of what I did and I’m sure you’ll be able to put together what I was doing wrong!

I got pretty upset and didn’t get the end look of the cake. I also apologize for not doing voice-overs for this video. I had all four wisdoms removed and couldn’t speak clearly.

I’ll try it again another time!

As always, thank you so much for stopping by and check me out next week!

4 thoughts on “I FAILED at making a Red Velvet Cake & Cream Cheese Icing UGGGHH

Leave a Reply

